Cookies ermöglichen eine bestmögliche Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Seiten und Services erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden. Mehr InfosOK

IATF 16949:2016

Management for automotive suppliers

The technical specification ISO TS 16949 / IATF 16949 is the first globally valid certification standard for quality management systems of automotive suppliers and their subcontractors. Automobile associations in the US, in Japan, in England in France, in Italy and in Germany have voted. The ISO / TS 16949 / IATF 16949 is based on the ISO 9001 (quality) and contains additional industry-specific requirements of the automotive industry with the aim of optimizing the interaction of individual processes. Particular emphasis is placed here on error prevention and risk minimization (maintenance of delivery capability). Other key features include process orientation and performance metrics for continuous improvement. Certificates according to ISO TS 16949 / IATF 16949 are today recognized by the automotive industry and direct suppliers around the world as evidence that the quality management system of a serial supplier meets their requirements. The ISO TS 16949 / IATF 16949 can in principle be used throughout the automotive supply chain, but is a must for direct suppliers. Suppliers of the 2nd and 3rd series must have an ISO 9001 quality management system which is to be developed in the direction of ISO TS 16949: 2009. Certification is based on the certification requirements issued by the International Automotive Task Force (IATF).

On October 1, 2016 the new IATF 16949: 2016 has been released. The new standard will replace the previous ISO / TS 16949: 2009.

What is changing: The IATF 16949: 2016 is now even closer to DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015. This close connection is not only reflected in the joint High Level Structure, but also in the fact that DIN EN ISO 9001: 2015 is no longer an integral part of IATF 16949: 2016. Thus, the IATF 16949: 2016 no longer represents an independent QMS standard, but can only be understood in conjunction with ISO 9001: 2015. The user must therefore have two standards at hand in the future.

The corresponding rules in the now 5th edition have also changed on 01.11.2016.

The previous ISO / TS 16949: 2009 will lose its validity with the DIN EN ISO 9001: 2008 to 14.09.2018. After this time, only the new IATF 16949: 2016 will be valid.


currently valid versions:

ISO / TS 16949: 2009

IATF 16949: 2016